New York City Sex Crime Defense Attorney
Have you been charged with sexual abuse in Queens?
The general definition of sexual abuse is an unwanted or nonconsensual
sexual act with another person. There are actually a number of different
sex crimes that may constitute "sexual abuse" under New York law, and as
such it is important to understand what these are and how they are different.
Some involve patterns of sexual abuse and some involve minors. Depending
on the type of abuse and the age of the victim versus the age of the alleged
offender, the charges and penalties may vary.
In the face of any sexual abuse charges – or even informal allegations
by a child, parent or adult – it is important to protect your interests.
A New York City criminal defense lawyer at
Musa-Obregon & Associates can step in and begin working to exercise your constitutional rights to
the fullest extent. With sexual abuse cases, it is not uncommon for law
enforcement to take aggressive measures to remove the alleged offender
from the community and for the case to influence one's reputation,
employment and personal relationships. Taking a proactive approach can
limit the adverse effects of such a matter.
We represent those throughout Queens, Brooklyn, The Bronx, Manhattan, Rockland
County and Westchester County.
Understanding Sexual Abuse Charges
New York State Penal Code §§ 130.53-70 describe the specific
acts that are considered sexual abuse and classifies these as misdemeanors
or felonies depending on their severity. Brief descriptions of these follow:
Sexual abuse in the third degree (class B misdemeanor): subjecting another to sexual contact without the
Sexual abuse in the second degree (class A misdemeanor): subjecting another person to sexual contact when
the victim is incapable of consent or is less than 14 years old.
Sexual abuse in the first degree (class D felony): subjecting another to sexual contact by force, when
the victim is physically helpless, when the victim is less than 11 years
old, or when the victim is less than 13 years old and the offender is
at least 21 years old.
Persistent sexual abuse (class E felony): committing sexual abuse in the third or second degree
when the offender has a two or more previous convictions for sexual abuse.
Aggravated sexual abuse (class E to class B felony): committing sexual abuse with a foreign object.
This may be charged in the fourth, third, second or first degree depending
on the circumstances surrounding the case, including the ages of the victim
The penalties for sexual abuse may vary from time in county jail for a
misdemeanor, all the way to 25 years in prison for a class B felony. In
addition to incarceration, fines may be imposed and a defendant may face
lifetime registration as a sex offender, a requirement that may have a
tremendous impact on one's life on its own.
Accused of sexual abuse? Call a NYC criminal defense lawyer.
There is no time to waste if you have been accused of sexual abuse. In
any scenario, whether you are the parent of the alleged victim, are a
teacher or coach accused of abuse by an angry parent, or were involved
in a relationship with a minor and have been accused of abuse, you have
the right to legal counsel. As with other sex offenses, a "victim"
may make claims of abuse in an attempt to enact revenge or out of anger
or jealousy. Some parents have even tried to have their children claim
abuse to win custody battles. Make sure your rights are fully protected
with a competent Manhattan defense lawyer by your side.
Contact a New York City or Queens sex crime defense attorney immediately to find out more about how to challenge these allegations
to protect your future.